Category List

Tag List

Tag Cloud


Saplings New Blog!!!


So we have listened to what you have said and decided to start up a blog to show you in more detail how we are preparing your children for school.  First we would like to tell you a bit more about the Early Years Foundation Stage……..

There are three Prime areas; Personal, Social and Emotional development (PSE), Physical development (P) and Communication and Language (C&L).  These are the core elements to the Early Years Framework and what all other areas of Learning and Development are built upon.  We do not focus as much on the specific areas until children are older.  Once they are in Saplings there is a shift to more of an equal focus on prime and specific areas which include Expressive Arts and Design (EAD), Literacy (L), Mathematics (M) and Understanding of the World (UTW).

Children are unique individuals who learn and develop at different rates and in different ways.  We learn about the children and what they can do by observing them during their play and assessing what each observation tells us.  This helps us to understand what stage they are at as well as what they are interested in.  All this information is used to plan activities for children which are fun and engaging.  They might look like they are just having fun and playing but the secret is…..they are really learning!

Please add a comment

Leave a Reply

(Your email will not be publicly displayed.)

Captcha Code

Click the image to see another captcha.